A Gorgeous Day in January

It amazes me that it was below freezing a few days ago and today it reached 70 degrees outside! Unbelievable. We enjoyed the unseasonal weather by spending some much-needed time outside, just goofing around. (Well, Shane was working on building some shelves in the garage; I was goofing around with the kids.)

We played on the swing set and in the sandbox for a while. Then I tried to take them for a short walk along our street. However, we only got as far as the neighbor’s house two doors down. I couldn’t pull them away from the hill in front of the house. Delaney kept climbing it and Declan kept rolling down it. I overlooked the grass stains because I couldn’t get enough of the giggling. Plus, do grass stains really matter? Not really.

I was carrying my camera around while we played outside because I had visions in my head of some photos I wanted to get. Those didn’t really work out, though. But I’m pretty happy with some that I did get. If it seems like I’m favoring my little girl, it’s because she kinder to the camera these days. She’s young enough where I can get her attention or catch an innocent look on her face without too much effort. My son, on the other hand, either blatantly ignores me, makes some hideous face when I’m trying to take his picture, or just moves too fast. Trying to get the two of them to do anything specific for a photo is impossible. But if I just keep taking photos, I’ll get a handful of really good ones, and then I can just trash the rest.

We weren’t the only ones enjoying the beautiful weather.

9 responses to “A Gorgeous Day in January

  1. Great pictures Jess the kids are soo cute & getting big.

  2. emily lehman 10-21-11

    So beautiful!!Miss Delaney was sure having a great time with her brother. So nice to see both of them enjoying the outdoors {the weather has certainly been beautiful} The pictures are just the greatest!! Keep up the good work.Declan’s pics turned out real well he is just being funny and so darn cute!! Lots of love to all!

  3. Great pictures! Looks like the kids had a fun day…….this weather is amazing. Keep enjoying the weather and my beautiful grandchildren!

  4. Pingback: A Snowy Day in January | In Lehman's Terms

  5. I can’t believe how fast the kiddos are growing up! Declan looks older to me than he really is. You take such beautiful pictures, Jess. Lots of talent here!!!

What do you think?

