Simple Things Sunday: Teddy

Look at this guy. He’s been with me since I was a baby, when my grandparents (who are no longer with us) gave him to me. He has a wind-up music box inside, although I can’t remember the name of the tune he plays. The key that you turn to wind up the music box is a little rusty and stiff, and he has a tiny hole along a seam where some little pieces of stuffing occasionally fall out. I keep meaning to sew it. Otherwise, he’s fully intact and in great shape. I adore him.

My kids are fond of him too. He makes his way from one of their bedrooms, to the other, and back. This morning they were fighting over him and I had to convince them to take turns. So, we’d wind him up and one of them would hold him. When the song finished playing, it was the other child’s turn to have him. After almost 38 years, he is still loved. I only wish my grandparents were here to see their great-grandchildren snuggle the teddy they gave me so long ago. Although, in my heart, I feel like they do see.

I miss you Grammy and Pappy!

12 responses to “Simple Things Sunday: Teddy

  1. Brings tears

  2. How sweet. For a compulsive purger-of-things, I don’t have any material memories like this, so what a treasure.
    Nice placement of the little guy, too. Love the fringe on the afghan behind him giving contrast to his shabbiness. Great story… good work.

    • Thanks, Kelly! I could certainly stand to purge more things in my house, so I could learn some lessons from you. 🙂 Teddy has a permanent place in our home, though. Thanks for stopping by!

  3. That is so sweet! I am so glad it has held up for all you to enjoy! Love this!

  4. Very touching post — thanks for stopping by my blog.

  5. emily lehman 10-21-11

    So sentimental. Glad you can share that with your children!! Great story.

  6. They do see…………and they are as proud of you and your family as dad and I are…………love you all………mom

What do you think?

