First Harvest: Spring Onions

What an incredible weekend to be outside in the garden! I didn’t want it to end… especially Sunday. The weather was perfect.

With the snow and rain we got over the last couple of weeks I was starting to get anxious to plant and wanted to get as much in the ground this weekend as I could. We got the garden mostly tilled and ready, which included mixing in some horse manure that my husband picked up two weeks ago. My in-laws were in town and helped keep the kids busy, which gave me some larger chunks of time in the garden than I usually get. (Thank you to E, G, and my hubby!)

Saturday I sowed yellow and sweet onions, lettuce (arugula and simpson), and spinach, and transplanted some lettuce and chard that had come up from last year. I also planted some broccoli and cabbage plants that we got at the garden store just up the road, along with some garlic chives. On Sunday I sowed garden peas, snap peas, kale, turnips, broccoli rabe, and kohlrabi. My son went to the garden store with me on Saturday and he picked out some pansies for the kids’ garden. So, we planted those too, and added a few other fun things, like some pinwheels and river rocks.

As I mentioned, there are some plants that overwintered and are showing new growth. I moved the lettuce and chard to the appropriate plot, based on my crop rotation plan. (The spot where there were will have tomatoes, peppers, eggplant and potatoes this year.) Also, while taking compost out of the bottom of our compost bin to put in the garden, I found four cloves of garlic that were sprouting, so I planted them in the garden near the onions. (Why not?)

Finally, we had a bunch of onions in last year’s onion plot that had grown new green stalks. They weren’t onions that I planted in the fall with the expectation of an early spring harvest. They were onions I missed when harvesting them last year, because I wasn’t really sure when I was supposed to pull them out and I did it a little too late, after the stalks on some of the smaller onions completely dried up and withered away. So, they grew back this spring. At the suggestion of my mother-in-law, I pulled them to have as spring onions. They filled a quart size mason jar nicely, so I decided to get a little creative with them before eating them. I’m so excited Spring is finally here!

6 responses to “First Harvest: Spring Onions

  1. Those onions look yummy

  2. emily lehman 10-21-11

    They were really yummy —not a bit strong—just refreshing to have them so early in the season!!!

  3. Jess, I saw on Pinterest that green onions will keep growing if you keep them in water, and just put fresh water in once in a while. Apparently, if you cut off the top part you’re going to use, just leave the whites with a little green on them, and they’ll regrow themselves right on your counter. Haven’t tried it yet, but they say it works…. and fairly quickly too!

    • Hey Jen! Cool! Thanks for letting me know! I don’t know if it would work for these, though, because I sliced the bottoms off where the roots were. I still have them in water and have changed it out, though. I was considering dehydrating them to use later for soups. But for now, they’re still in the fridge (aside from the ones I ate fresh with a little salt). I’m going to keep your tip in mind for the future, though! 🙂

  4. Oh I’m so jealous – we’ve attempted growing our own vegies three times now only to unintentionally kill them. We have also seen the death of two worm farms which according to my father are ‘impossible to kill’. Not so Dad. So we have given in and take a weekly trip to the growers markets (which is a lovely weekly outing). The spring onions look lovely in the jar – might have to try this myself (since no one buys me flowers lol) 🙂

    • Thanks for visiting, Kate! So far so good with our veggies… but I’m sure we’ll be making several trips to the local farmers markets too! Interesting to hear you’ve not had luck with the worm farms. I’ve been curious about them and might try one in the future. But I know very little about them. So, that will be an adventure all on its own if/when the time comes. 🙂

What do you think?

