A Good Luck Charm?

I’ve got between one-third and one-half of the garden planted with early season and frost-tolerant crops, but about one-quarter of the garden still needs to be cleaned up before I can plant anything there. (Meanwhile, my seed potatoes are in the basement sprouting!) I was weeding this last section the other day, while the ground was a bit wet and the much-too-large weeds would be easy to pull, and I noticed a huge clump of oversize clovers. I decided to comb it over to see if I could find one with four leaves, and within seconds I found one! Could this mean it’s going to be a good year for the garden? That’s what I’m choosing to believe!

Thanks to Kim Klassen for the pretty textures she creates and generously shares! The one I used here is called “lifesgood”.

10 responses to “A Good Luck Charm?

  1. What a great site! I just posted seedling methods and wonder what you have growing right now? We would love for you to share a photo with us to feature you on Caramelize Life for our next garden posting! Georgina @ http://caramelizelife.com/

    • Hi Georgina! I have four trays of seedlings going… way more plants than I’ll need! This is only my second year starting seeds in trays (or with a real garden, for that matter), so I’m still learning. 🙂 I have several varieties of tomatoes and peppers, as well as eggplant, cucumber, herbs (parsley, cilantro, sage and basil), fennel, cabbage, kale, and kohlrabi. (I sowed those last three directly in the garden after starting the trays, too.) I also have some purple salvia started for my flower bed. Oh- I also have a tray of strawberries that I started from seed, but they are still really small despite being the first tray I prepared, so I’m not sure how they’ll do. But, yes, I’d love to share a photo with you!

      • Super cool Jessica:) I have two possible ideas on linking up~ I have an “indoor herb garden” post in the works and I’d love to see photos from you for that. Also, I want to periodically update my seedling postings, and all I can do in this climate right now are the peppers, tomatoes, tomatillos, so showcasing your seedling starts of cabbage, eggplant, etc. would be awesome! Would you like my email in order to start an exchange? Thanks~~G @ Caramelize Life

  2. Must have been your luckey day I have never seen a four leaf clover.

  3. Hi Jessica, I’m curious about your location and growing season? Our’s is mighty short in the North Cascades of WA. What’s your timing like for planting/harvesting, etc.? Thanks! G @ Caramelize Life

    • I’m in the mid-Atlantic… Virginia. Average last frost for us is around April 15th. So, I’m planning on getting a lot of my seedlings in the ground between then and May 1st. Average first frost is in mid-October, so we’ve got a decent 6-month growing season.

      • Ack! That sounds great. We have around…90 days. And today, it’s snowing again. My inspiration is in the seedlings growing like gangbusters in my south facing kitchen window. I’m curious, do you grow veggies for canning in the fall?

  4. You know Woman that is very unusual.

What do you think?

