Simple Things Sunday: The Lineup

As part of the “simple things” theme, I’ve been meaning to post about my kids’ favorite toys, but hadn’t come up with a fun or interesting way to do it yet. However, the other morning I went into my son’s room and found this lineup of some of his favorite cars and I decided this was my chance. He does this a lot–arranges his toys in a nice neat line. Most often they are cars or trucks lined up end-to-end and all facing the same direction. Other times, like with his collection of Hess trucks, he lines them up side by side, all facing the same direction. He even likes to line up his books.

One time he lined up all of the matchbox cars he could find, end-to-end, snaking the line around the living room. I was in the kitchen and noticed it had been quiet for a little too long. I went to check what he was up to and found he had lined up about 70 matchbox cars and was sitting back and admiring his work. I took some photos of the mega-lineup at the time, but the room was in too much disarray to share those photos here. I’m pretty happy with these, though. πŸ™‚

24 responses to “Simple Things Sunday: The Lineup

  1. Haha! this is adorable!

  2. Let’s see the matchbox line, I don’t mind the mess.:>)

  3. Really cool, especielly the macro in the middle, wow! I gotta experiment more with toys, which our house is loaded with πŸ˜‰

    • You should! My daughter has a favorite book with a little finger puppet in the center. I may post that one soon. It always makes her giggle, whereas she won’t sit still long enough for me to read her any of her other books. I figure the special toys are worth a “simple things” post.

  4. Wonderful, that is such a neat photo!

  5. Cute pictures of the lined up cars! Like them.
    My parents say that when my sister was little, she used to line up all her cars through all our house. Coming from one room to another (she had lots of cars!).

    I’m visiting from The Simple Things.
    Regards from Barcelona.

  6. So cute! Messes are a sign of good play!

  7. this is beyond cute Jessica! love the photos and how carefully he lined them all up! thanks for sharing and happy Easter! πŸ™‚

  8. This is sooo cute. I especially love the one in the middle.

  9. That is so cute!!!! My son used to do that when he was little. I love how the firetruck is in the front!

    • Thanks! Yes, there is another dimension (or two) of order when he does this. This one seems to be biggest-to-smallest, and then emergency vehicles in the front and race cars and others in the back. He’s definitely very meticulous about it!

  10. I love this! And what a great idea to post your little ones fav toys! Those will be great memories to look back on!

  11. Love it! Pictures are great…..I was really looking forward to seeing the Hess trucks too! πŸ™‚

  12. Love this! My three year old does the same thing with his “Lightnings”! A nice idea to remember what they love, I have an eleven year old too, I have forgotten so much already 😦

    • I’m starting to realize now how, as they get older, I am starting to have a harder time remembering all the little things that, at the time, I thought I’d never forget. These posts are for me just as much as they are for them. Thanks for visiting!

What do you think?

