Make Your Own Seed Packet Organizer Using a Tissue Box

Since last year was my first year with a big garden, I start accumulating seed packets and was looking for a way to keep them somewhat tidy and organized. (Kind of a stretch for me, being neither a tidy nor an organized person.) I searched online for some special seed containers or something that might be available at a garden store, but came up with nothing. I did, however, find a page that recommended using an old tissue box to hold seed packets. I tried it and thought it worked out just fine.

Over the past year and into this growing season, my seed collection expanded threefold and I needed more seed holders. Since we have two small kids in the house, we go through our fair share of tissues and don’t have to wait long to have an empty tissue box to put to use. So, I made two more today. Here’s what you do.

Start with an empty tissue box and cut a rectangle out of the top.

From the corners of the inner rectangle that you cut out, cut diagonally to the top corners of the box, essentially creating four flaps on the top. Then fold those down and staple them to the inside of the box.

Ta-da! You have yourself a seed box. I suppose if you were feeling crafty, you could even decorate your box.

As a result of this little bit of effort, my seed collection went from this:

To this:

I had to figure out a way to divide them up into the three boxes, so I put cool weather (frost tolerant) plant seeds in one box, warm weather (frost intolerant) plant seeds in another, and  legume, flower, and herb seeds in the last box. Then I grouped them in each box by plant type (tomatoes, peppers, lettuces, squash, etc). (I realize now that I have way too many squash and pumpkins seeds!) I also thought of using some index cards as dividers between plant types, but haven’t done that yet.

Surely the best way to make my seed packets more manageable is to stop buying so many! That isn’t nearly as fun, though. Nonetheless, I’m sure this isn’t the last of my seed organizing efforts. I’ll adjust or try something else later. I did find a site online that recommends using a pocket-style behind-the-door shoe organizer to organize seeds, while others simply use binders with sleeves to hold the packets. I’m curious to hear what you do. If you have a system that works for you, or any ideas or suggestions, please do share!

6 responses to “Make Your Own Seed Packet Organizer Using a Tissue Box

  1. Good idea Jess my seeds are all over the place,some in the garage some in the house and some in the garden shed. This year I am adding a fence & gate to my garden with two razed beds 5′ x 5′ each wich I hope keeps the critters out. Happy gardening.

  2. Jess, Thank you for the seed packet storage idea, plan to use it. LOL, AT

  3. Really great idea. All I need now is a cold and I’m all over it! 🙂

What do you think?

