Embrace the Camera: Me and My Girl

One of my first blog posts, Getting in the Picture, is about using a tripod and wireless remote shutter release to try to get in more photos, rather than always being behind the camera. As the primary photography of the house, I end up in few of the photos we have of my family. Since participating the Simple Things Sunday link-up, I’ve discovered that Rebecca at Simple as That participates in another link-up called Embrace the Camera. The point of Embrace the Camera is to encourage us get in the photo with our loved ones, especially our kids. They’ll love having these photos one day.

I’ve been meaning to do more self-portrait photos with my kids, so I’m going to join the Embrace the Camera link-up as a way to get myself to actually do it. So here is my first post. Like the photos from December’s post, I took this photo using my camera on a tripod with a wireless remote shutter release. You can see the remote in my daughter’s hand. Like my son, she thought it was a hoot to push the button and make the camera go “click!” and after several shots she wanted to go look at them on the camera’s display screen.

It took a bit of trial-and-error, and a lot of deleting after we filled the disk, to get the focus right and to avoid cutting off the tops of our heads. (Maybe next time I’ll change it from continuous shooting mode to one shot mode; then when my daughter holds the trigger down, we won’t fill the disk so fast!) That’s the beauty of digital cameras, though; you can shoot away and delete anything that isn’t a keeper. Also, by using the remote shutter release and letting your kids run the show, you’re sure to get some fantastic smiles!

I definitely plan to do this more often and I’m going to use Rebecca’s list of “50 Photos to Take with Your Kids” for some inspiration. That will be my biggest challenge… getting creative with these shots. Thanks for visiting!

10 responses to “Embrace the Camera: Me and My Girl

  1. emily lehman 10-21-11

    What a beautiful picture–so natural looking. She is so darn cute with the all smiles. Now you need a picture of the 4 of you. Kee p up the good work–so talented. Love to all.

  2. You’re getting started at an earlier age than I did, with getting in the pictures. It wasn’t until I got a digital camera and started scrapbooking when my oldest was about 13 that I looked through the old photos and realized how few there were of me. I did well for a while, at getting in the picture but I think I’ve let it slip again.

  3. This is so sweet….she looks so happy with this special mommy and me activity…..I just wanna hug her! (and you)

  4. She is luckey to have such a great Mom speaking of Moms, HAPPY MOTHERS DAY>>

What do you think?

