Turnip or Not Turnip? That is the question.

Look at these two beauties that I pulled from different parts of the garden on Saturday. The one on top was in my turnip patch… so that’s definitely a turnip. The bottom one showed up in my radish and carrot patch, but it looks more like a turnip than a radish. The leaves on the two are practically identical, but the radish-turnip was starting to flower. I pulled them both but I’m not quite sure what I’ll do with them. I am thinking of just roasting them with some carrots and potatoes. I’m hoping they both are actually turnips; I don’t think roasted radish would taste very good.

In other garden-related news, I started to lose faith in the tomato and pepper plants that I started from seed. Some are doing okay, but many of them are not looking great and I started to worry that this year’s tomato harvest would be as disappointing as last year’s. This past weekend I decided I would go to the garden store and buy some new pepper and tomato plants to at least supplement the plants I grew myself, in case mine were a bust. I also got a couple of large pottery planters. I didn’t pull out all of my tomato and pepper plants, but I pulled out the weakest-looking half of them and replaced them with the much-more-robust-looking nursery plants. I also put a few plants in the planters. I’d say a full 1/4 of my garden is dedicated to tomatoes and peppers, so I’m hoping for a good harvest. Last year was my first try at canning, so I hope to do a lot more of that this year, especially using tomatoes.

5 responses to “Turnip or Not Turnip? That is the question.

  1. Maybe you could scratch the possible radish and sniff it… I think I remember radishes having a somewhat distinctive smell. BTW, I’m in my first year of trying to grow a garden, so I’m enjoying your comments comparing this year to last year, what you’ve learned, and what you’re still learning. Nice photography too!

    • Thanks! And you make a good point. I did give it the sniff test, but I didn’t scratch and sniff. I’ll have to try that. I have some pretty large radishes out there, so it’s completely possible that it’s a radish. It’s juts a lot bigger than the others. But it’s seems way too early for a turnip to be putting up flowers. Then again, this is my first time with turnips. I’ll investigate further and report back! 😉

  2. I vote turnip….but then again…..you know what kind of gardner I am…. 😉

  3. Hi Jessica, thanks for your great postings! Re. tomatoes and peppers–let’s share info as last year we had a dismal situation too. This year, we are protecting our peppers under plastic until it is seriously hot (i.e. 90s) because without that heat, they just done’t grow. We found the same with tomatoes.

    • Thanks, Georgina! Your pepper plan sounds like a good one. I had repotted a lot of my plants and they were looking good but then they started to yellow. Perhaps it was the combination of several dry weeks followed by an overabundance of rain? Then the aphids found them and they started to get the curly leaves. I sprayed them down with some soapy water to kill the aphids, but ever since the plants have looked pretty rough. All my plants are a lighter green (almost a yellow-green), where the nursery plants were a much richer, darker green, especially the peppers. I feel like I’ve got a little experiment going on now, with the home-grown plants versus the nursery/greenhouse plants. It’ll be interesting to compare their development as time goes on. So far, the nursery plants are ahead, though a few of my tomato plants were starting to get blossoms on them. It’s all just one big experiment, isn’t it? 😉

What do you think?

