Simple Things Sunday: Sweetly Sleeping Boy

I always love when people post pictures of their children sleeping peacefully and I’ve been watching for a similar opportunity with my kids. They always look like angels when they are asleep, don’t they?

My son often comes to our room in the middle of the night and, although he tosses and turns, kicking and slapping his dad and me, it’s always nice to lay there and cuddle with him in the morning. He can be a typical energetic and rambunctious boy. So when he’s laying there in a quiet slumber, I take a moment to enjoy it.

Though I’ve tried several times to get a good sleepy photo of him, the light in our bedroom in the morning is never right. This photo is from last weekend when D was sleeping in at my parents’ house. He had gone to bed later than usual, so he was pooped. I love the way his little lips puff out when he’s asleep. πŸ™‚

17 responses to “Simple Things Sunday: Sweetly Sleeping Boy

  1. Like how the black & white plays with the shadows

  2. Sweet. Amazing how peaceful they can look while at rest. πŸ™‚ Desaturating the image as you’ve done reinforces the mood and brings up all the lovely textures in the image. Thank you for sharing this beautiful picture.

    • Thanks for visiting, Beth! Yes, I much preferred this one in black and white and thought it emphasized the different patterns and textures as well. Plus, I had my ISO cranked up, so it had some extra grain and didn’t look as good in color. πŸ™‚

  3. that is so precious! Mine look like little angels too but I never managed to get a photo – maybe I should try before it’s too late. Really great shot!

    • Thanks! You definitely should try it. I was able to set up my tripod and take several shots without him even stirring. Now I need to try to get one of my daughter…

  4. I love those puffed out lips, too! so so so precious. Great job capturing this photo. It was worth the wait!!

  5. chichomeschoolmama

    Oh this is such a sweet moment!

  6. That photo is so adorable!! I love the coloring also πŸ™‚

  7. I don’t remember this peaceful moment……hmmmm….I missed a beauty! πŸ˜‰

  8. I cannot recall how I landed here, but instantly knew I would ad your Blog to my reading list and share it with our readers. I find your “Simple Things Sunday” segment absolutely delightful. Glad to meet you.

  9. Pingback: Weekend Highlights – Noteworthy Articles by Fellow Bloggers – June 9, 2012 « Granny's Parlour

What do you think?

