Simple Things Sunday: Second Birthday and Spray Ground

I posted on Thursday afternoon, the day of my daughter’s birthday, because I was eager to participate in Thursday’s Embrace the Camera link-up. However, my post was premature, as the day wasn’t over. Here is DJ testing the icing on her birthday cake that the four of us shared after supper. She was a little hesitant at first and seemed confused by the two candles on the cake and our singing, but eventually dove right in.

Happy 2nd Birthday, sweet girl!

After dinner a quick shower rolled through and she was having fun watching it through the open door. She even ran out onto the deck for a few moments to play while it rained.

Then she ran back in, looked outside and said “wow! see?”

The next day I took the two of them to a spray ground. DJ was a little nervous about the whole thing, but Mr. D got into it, despite his slow start. Still, neither were running around and getting soaked like the rest of the kids there. It was pretty new for them, though, so perhaps next time they will enjoy it more. I mean, look how fun this is?

Mr. D did finally commandeer this piece of spray equipment. It turned into a series of duels between him and several other kids who took turns sitting on the other spray dome. D had figured out how to plug a few of the holes with his fingers in order to make it spray farther, and he was spraying the kids on the other end while they tried to do the same to him. But their spray dome didn’t work nearly as well. So he was full of devilish giggles. It was funny to watch.

I’m pretty sure their favorite part of the trip to this park was pitching a blanket on the grass and having a snack. DJ even cheered “yay!” when I laid out the blanket. Here’s a sweet photo I got of the two of them enjoying the scenery.

There was a walking/biking trail nearby so after snacks we took a walk. They thought this was so exciting and were happy to lead the way! Don’t they look like they are ready to take on the world together?

We’ll be heading back to this park again very soon… especially if this heat keeps up!

19 responses to “Simple Things Sunday: Second Birthday and Spray Ground

  1. Happy Birthday to your little girl. Glad she enjoyed such a special day with her brother.

  2. awwww, such sweet shots! My boys would be all over the water, without a nanosecond to snack, let alone go do something else. love the picnic shots, and of course the birthday photos…

    • I’m surprised my son wasn’t more like that. I think next time he will be. Probably if he had some other friends there he might’ve been running around with them, too. But there were a lot of unfamiliar faces there, which I think was part of it. We’ll go back again soon, though!

  3. This looks like so much fun! I just love the picture on the blanket and walking together, how cute! Happy birthday toyourbeautiful girl!

  4. Happy Birthday to your little girl! Sometimes new things do scare the kids a little, maybe next time they will jump right in! Love those last two of them together.

    • I think you are right, Maribel. There were a lot of new faces there, too, so it was a lot to take in. Next time they’ll know what to expect and will be more prepared to jump right in. I’ll have to wear my swimsuit next time too, so I can get right in there with them. Should’ve done that this past time.

  5. What a fun day. I’m so jealous you have a spray park. The closet we have is a fountain in a local town center that the kids can run through. Such sweet photos of your kids. I especially like the one of them walking hand in hand on the trail. Photos like that, showing relationships (especially with siblings) are my absolute fave! Thanks for sharing with us.

    • Hi Rachel! Fountains can be fun! There are a few spray parks around here, but this one is the biggest and best one. The others just have a couple of structures, I think. I agree with you on the trail photo. I seem be developing a series of from-the-back photos of the two of them and that’s why I like them…. because you get to observe their interactions and the level of comfort they have with each other. It’s sweet to watch and capture.

  6. chichomeschoolmama

    Awwww- Happy Birthday to her! Love her dress & that last shot is so sweet.

  7. Wonderful photos and moments! Love that last pic ♥ Your kids are precious!!!

  8. Great pic’s jess love the one of D&D Walking hand & hand

    • Thanks, Uncle Joe! I’m thinking I might print a larger version of the trail photo. I just love the posture of the two of them in that one… both walking so tall!

  9. So sweet. I love the moments you captured and the fun picnic and walk they had. Great job!!!

What do you think?

