Simple Things Sunday: Sunflower

We’ve had some crazy weather lately… extreme heat and a “derecho”, which I’ve never heard of before. The weather was so strong Friday night that I considered waking the kids and heading to the basement. Though the lights flickered several times, and we lost power for a moment or two, we didn’t lose power long-term. It turns out that many people in our community are without power, so I guess we were lucky.

We did have two casualties in the garden. The two biggest sunflowers that I had growing in the garden were laying flat on the ground Saturday morning. One was open; the other had a head on it but hadn’t bloomed yet. I decided to use the downed open sunflower and get some macro shots. They’re hard to photograph from 6 feet over your head, so might as well seize the opportunity and not let it be a total waste. ๐Ÿ™‚

Notice the ant at the bottom right.

19 responses to “Simple Things Sunday: Sunflower

  1. Beautiful shots!
    My family and friends in that area said the weather was pretty scary. No electric yet for most of them, and lots of downed trees. It whistled right by us…we were fortunate here.

  2. Nice macro shots! We have sunflowers, too and they’re fun to take photos of.

    • Thank you! Yes, I need to do this more often. Most of them are so tall, though, that I can’t get to them without crawling up a ladder or chopping them down. So, this worked out I guess. I do have some smaller, shorter ones getting ready to bloom, so I’ll be sure to get some shots of those. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Incredible macro shots! Good to know the flower did not go to waste but you were able to capture GOD’s creation in full detail.

  4. happyhooligans

    Lovely, lovely, lovely shots sunflower pics! The close up shot of the of the seeds spiralling inward (4th photo down) is magnificent. It looks like it could be in a magazine! Sorry to hear about your wacky weather! Ours is fairly intense here as well. Very hot at the moment. From the sounds of it, a lot of us, from all over, are experiencing bizarre weather.

    • Thank you! I think the “spiral” photo is my favorite too. ๐Ÿ™‚ Yes, the weather has really been strange. Kinda scary, actually. I hope this doesn’t keep up!

  5. Great Pic’s

  6. emily lehman 10-21-11

    I love the pictures they are so unique. Good to hear the damage was not worse. Keep up the good work!!

  7. What beautiful picture, lovely detail and such beautiful colours! I’ve been growing Sunflowers here but its been so cold their still under two foot tall! I don’t think my garden is going to be very successful this year unfortunately! Thanks for sharing your pictures!

    • Thanks for visiting, Emily! I checked out your blog and enjoyed it. Neat stuff! With the heat waves and crazy weather we’ve been having here, it’s hard for me to imagine it being too cold anywhere! But I wish you luck with your garden! ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. Lovely macro shots! The color is amazing!

    Jamie @ http://www.mamamommymom.com

  9. These are awesome….they remind me how awesome our God is to be such a creator! ๐Ÿ˜‰

What do you think?

